About the Corridor


The first Bioceanic Corridor of America was the work of settlers in the United States in the “Conquest of the West.” In South America there are several projects, but the first to begin to materialize is the one that goes from Brazil to the ports of northern Chile, crossing Paraguay and two provinces of Argentina. It runs parallel to the Tropic of Capricorn and covers an important part of the Integration Zone of the Central West of South America (ZICOSUR), an integration project started in 1997 by several subnational governments in this area to accelerate its development, preceded by the efforts of the Group Interregional Business Center of the South American Central West (GEICOS) since 1975.


National Governments of Brazil, Paraguay, Argentina and Chile.


Ver Ficha


Ver Ficha


Ver Ficha


Ver Ficha


Mato Grosso do Sul, Chaco Paraguayo, Provincia de Jujuy, Provincia de Salta, Región de Antofagasta y Región de Tarapacá.

Mato Grosso do Sul

Ver Ficha

Chaco Paraguayo

Ver Ficha

Provincia de Jujuy

Ver Ficha

Provincia de Salta

Ver Ficha

Región de Antofagasta

Ver Ficha

Región de Tarapacá

Ver Ficha


The Mediterranean regions and countries of central-western South America such as Paraguay, Bolivia, northern Argentina and southwestern Brazil, have historically depended on the ports of the Atlantic Ocean. Today, its production is more in demand in the Pacific markets. One of the objectives of integrating these Mediterranean areas with northern Chile and southern Peru is to facilitate commercial exchanges to contribute to their development. The Bioceanic Corridor will connect with the Pacific areas of strong productive potential little used, will allow to diversify its production and add value to it through the creation of regional production chains between the regions of its route.


  • Contribute to developing the economic and social opportunities promoted by the inter-oceanic connection that extends from the coast of Brazil, crossing through the territories of Paraguay and Argentina, until reaching the ports of northern Chile.
  • Achieve the substantial improvement of the physical infrastructure, the facilitation of cross-border transit and the streamlining of customs procedures, aimed at expediting the movement of people and goods between their respective countries, in order to achieve high logistical efficiency, greater economic competitiveness and more effective regional integration.

Governance Committee

The Governments of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Paraguay instructed their Ministries of Foreign Affairs to form a Working Group between the four countries to promote technical studies and formulate pertinent recommendations for the completion of the Campo Grande – Puerto Murtinho road corridor (Brazil ) – Carmelo Peralta – Mariscal Estigarribia – Pozo Hondo (Paraguay) – La Paz Mission – Tartagal – Jujuy – Salta (Argentina) – Sico – Jama – Ports of Antofagasta – Mejillones – Iquique (Chile). This Quadripartite Committee invites to its meetings representatives of Subnational Governments, Universities and business sectors from the regions included in its layout.


Decision to specify the Bioceanic Road Corridor:

DECLARATION OF ASSUMPTION ON BIOCEANIC CORRIDORS, signed on December 21, 2015 by the First Presidents of Argentina, Brazil, Chile and Paraguay (hyperlink)

Confirmation of support for the Bioceanic Road Corridor:

DECLARATION OF BRASILIA, signed on December 21, 2017 by the First Presidents of Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay and the Foreign Minister of Chile (hyperlink).

Meetings of the Working Group created by the Declaration of Asunción, whose coordination is in charge of the respective Ministries of Foreign Relations.

These meetings were held in:

  1. Antofagasta (May 2016)
  2. Campo Grande (July 2016)
  3. Jujuy (October 2016)
  4. Asuncion (May 2017)
  5. Antofagasta (November 2017)
  6. Salta (June 2018)
  7. Asuncion (April 2019)
  8. Campo Grande (August 2019)

Interactive Map